(Ex-) Champion

Because there was no
three-knockdown rule
he
let the count reach ten
the second time he hit the canvas.

He was a boxer
not an idiot.

—————[|||]—————

(A roundly-rejected little ditty that I’m posting here today in response to Poets and Storytellers United Pantry #8: Multiples  Of Three)

———[||]———

10 thoughts on “(Ex-) Champion

  1. Love it! Pithy … clever … and wise ,,, with a real smack of authenticity to it … Poetry doesn’t often reach the heights of clarity you’ve scaled here. A wonderful little piece.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s