A Brief Interrogation

Q (Interrogator): Something must be terribly wrong. You just slept for seven hours straight.
A (The Accused): What? Oh. Yes. Lobsters. I always do.
Q:  Lobsters?
A:  Yes. I always do.
Q:  Very well then. Let’s move on.
A:  Move on?
Q:  Indeed. I need to know about the night in question.
A:  That’s not a question. It’s a statement.
(Transcriptionist): Could you repeat that, please? I didn’t get it.
A:  I didn’t get it either, but I was going to let it slide.
Q :  You were going to let what slide?
A:  What I said. It was critical. But she didn’t hear it anyway.
Q:  Let’s move on. I need to know about the night in question.
A:  The night in question?
Q:  Yes.
A:  Well, I’d slept seven hours straight. Something must have been terribly wrong.
Q:  That much has already been established.
A:  Has it, really? What about the lobsters? Can you ever establish lobsters?
Q:  Lobsters.
A:  Oh. Yes, I see. Well done.

Leave a Reply

