Early To Rise

If I should jump or fall from this high place
so late at night and close to these chaotic waves
would I, like gull or osprey are, be borne aloft
on winds I neither know nor see; be born again
to soar toward light that rises but does not shine
or would the fall and fog-enveloped night be all?

I dare not sit too long and contemplate the odds.
Instead, I try to find a little light and ink enough
to weigh the possibilities; afraid of bed, afraid
that in the morning I’ll forget the words and lines
and breaks, afraid to take what fragile little peace
there is in knowing what I cannot ever truly know.

5 thoughts on “Early To Rise

  1. Don’t know if this is an old poem or a new one, but Mr.L, it’s beautiful. Careful, elegant, what a sonnet should be and these days so rarely is.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

