I Know She Wants Me Back, But…

“If your head says forget it / but your heart’s still smoking
call me at the station / the lines are open”
–Joni Mitchell

 Today’s forecast is for a 30% chance of showers in the mid 50s, with the Fall foliage just a couple days past peak.

Actual conditions on October 5th, twenty-three years ago: ditto.

In 1991, October 5th was a Saturday and I was driving north in the rental, everything I owned—not nearly as much, way back then—rattling around in the back of the truck, nearly drowning out the radio.

I’d driven almost completely out of range of my long-term Saturday afternoon radiolove, Ruth Eddy, who’d always play whatever I called and asked her for and, while we waited for it to come up on the playlist, we’d chat. I’m not sure it was flirting, but it was something.

The last I heard from Ruth, the radio crackle had almost overtaken the broadcast altogether, but I could hear her saying something about how she hoped her friend Ron was still out there somewhere, still listening, and that she hoped to hear from him again sometime soon. Then she played Joni Mitchell’s You Turn Me On, I’m A Radio.

And then she was gone.

None of that mattered anymore, though. A couple hours later, I was parking the truck in My Beloved Sandra’s driveway.

I’ve been home, living happily ever after, since.

.

 

5 thoughts on “I Know She Wants Me Back, But…

  1. i had somehow missed joanie collins (or dismissed im not sure which) during my formative music years, and you reminded me about her with “If I were a River” (which I had never heard and will never forget, tyvm) and have read about your adventures concerning Ruth Eddy,in that previous post..
    Wistful, yep, Bit of gentle regret there, on both sides, and if you’re anything like the rest of us, no matter which turn in the road you eventually take, there is always a ‘what if…” out there. I don’t think we’d be human if we didnt wonder, if only for five minutes on a glorious fall day, what if, what if.

Leave a Reply

