Obligatory

No one asks him about his meds. No one
needs to ask. It’s all right there in front of them.

They’ve brought him in for his required quarterly
med review, and they’ve all arrived bleary-eyed,

burned out from four consecutive sleepless nights,
five straight days of jabber and incontinence.

Everyone sits with him in the conference room,
doing their best to help him get through the hell

they’re all being forced to share. Everyone’s there
except the teleconferencing doctor,

simultaneously a hundred miles
and a million miles away.

3 thoughts on “Obligatory

  1. My first reaction was, I am glad this is not my job. Then I got angry with the system for not having more staff with smaller case loads. Then I wondered what was finally done to help him get out of hell. You made me feel so many things in such a concise piece of writing. I admire this and you. But then, you knew that.

  2. ive read this again and again all day and every time I find something new in it I think. you know this guy, you know the family. You now the prestory and the ending. Theres anger here, that anyone should be treated this way, and compassion, and more. cool beans, ron., cool beans indeed

Leave a Reply

