Disincluded, Dammit

Once again, for the 7th or 8th year running, I have NOT been chosen for inclusion in the annual Best New Poets anthology.  I recognize that I’m hardly “new” by any stretch of imagination, but I still fit their criteria, which is to not yet have published a full volume of poetry.

And the competition this year, as always, was fierce.  There were just over 1700 entries, most which submitted 2 poems each, and only 50 winning poems selected; so I guess I don’t feel so bad. 

I’ll probably buy a copy anyway, and urge you to do the same.  The work is always top-notch.  I guess it would have to be, to have been selected over my own humble but no less stellar work.

At any rate, my hat’s off to the lucky, talented few who have been selected, and I look forward to reading their work.  Meanwhile, it’s back to the drawing board for me.  Maybe next year…

You can get all the author info /winning titles / competition stats, as well as details for ordering the anthology HERE.

Leave a Reply

