CROSSING (for OSI)

19 May
Art Credit: Lizzy Forrester http://www.lizzyforrestergallery.com/

Art Credit: Lizzy Forrester
http://www.lizzyforrestergallery.com/

Originally published 13 years ago in the (now defunct) New Works Review,┬árevived here in response to this week’s prompt, “Flow“, at One Single Impression.

Crossing

The river sings of its rocks, mirrors
emerald and jade where summer
shadows attempt to outrun
sundown. I intrude, I presume.

I stand near the middle. The second cut
of hay is on the banks, neatly ordered
in rows this time of year, golden,
measuring the march-step toward August.

I think about changes: the movement
of sand through narrow places, how
a ripple diminishes downstream,
how a sound sounds when it stops.

9 Responses to “CROSSING (for OSI)”

  1. Ramesh Sood May 19, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    Awesome and how much I enjoyed..reading and then rereading and then again…the “Sound” took me far away somewhere…trying to show if it was a sound at all..

    Loved it..

    http://rameshsood.blogspot.in/2013/05/dry-leaf-cracks.html

    RS

  2. vandana sharma May 19, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Lovely how a sound sounds when its gone…..never thought about it…

  3. Jess May 19, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    I really enjoyed those words Ron.I love water,streams,rivers.I like to watch the movement and to just wonder and dream,think Im turning into a bit of a dreamer :-)

  4. Stewie May 19, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Beautiful then- Beautiful once again…

    • Ron. May 19, 2013 at 8:06 am #

      Takes one to know one, my beauty.

  5. Geraldine May 19, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Wonderful words Ron, so evocative. Definitely worthy of an encore.

  6. judyt54 May 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    the line does me in. “how a sound sounds when it stops’. perfect, m’dear. perfect. you could make a meal in the Zen of that.

  7. Jim May 22, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    A thinking person’s setting and thoughts for a long moment. I could identify with the second cutting of hay but the sound of sound stopping had me think a bunch.

    Thank you for peeking in on my OSI. Again, here, I am sorry to be so very late in returning.
    ..

  8. viv blake May 23, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Ron, this is gorgeous – my favourite kind of poem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

